Emissions Testing


Emissions Testing on All Year Models

We are offer emissions testing on all year models. This includes OBD testing on 96 and newer, and Dyno testing on the few remaining years that are required.

Which vehicles have to be tested?

For 2018 vehicle registration, if your vehicle is a 1994 – 2015 model year gasoline-powered car or light-duty truck (8,500 pounds gross vehicle weight rating or less) registered in Cherokee, Clayton, Cobb, Coweta, DeKalb, Douglas, Fayette, Forsyth, Fulton, Gwinnett, Henry, Paulding or Rockdale County, it must be emissions tested.

The three most recent model year vehicles are exempt from emissions testing each year. For registration in 2018, this includes all 2016 and newer model year vehicles.

Additionally, vehicles that are 25 model years or older are exempt from emissions testing. This includes 1993 or older model year vehicles for 2018 registration. View a list of all vehicles that are exempt from emissions testing.

All 1996 – 2015 model year vehicles subject to emissions inspections will receive a three-part inspection:

  • An OBD test to check a vehicle’s emissions control performance history;
  • A fuel cap inspection to check for adequate seal; and
  • A visual inspection of the catalytic converter to check for tampering or removal.

What if my vehicle fails?

Well-maintained vehicles usually pass the emissions test first time unless there is a component failure that has not been repaired. If your car does fail, it must be repaired and retested.

You will receive one free retest if you return to the original inspection station within 30 calendar days of your initial inspection (Note: 30 days includes the date and the time of your initial inspection).

Being a full service shop, we can perform failed emissions diagnostics and repair. Ask your emissions tester for details.